top of page
  • Mary Furneaux

Aligning Your Vibrations

Today I was drawn to start thinking about sound and how it affects me. Let me explain. Sunday mornings have a stillness the rest of the week doesn’t have. I live in a neighborhood with a variety of neighbors. Most mornings when I step outside people are moving about, warming up their cars to go to work, setting out trash, going for a run etc. etc. It is the sounds of life and during the week there is a normalcy to it, even if it is tense and hurried. It gives an odd comfort that as, I to, will be soon stepping out to meet the world I am not alone. Ah but Sunday it totally different, and I am sure if your days off actually include a Sunday you realize it to.

The world slows down. Think about a moment, Sunday is the one day we very rarely jump out of bed and rush out the door. Even if we have to go somewhere and do something, your waking pace is slower. You take time to reflect before the covers come off. Even if you have eager children, or have to go to work, church or event, you try to take the pause moment. You feel the vibration of a day that is different from the others. It is a day where the universe seems to give you the ability to reconnect. That quiet hum of morning can be felt as the sun rises and it is still with only the sounds of nature.

I had to learn to take Sunday morning vibrations and incorporate it into my every morning. I was one of those that jumped out of bed every morning, a list of to dos in my head and the tossing on of clothes after a jump through the shower. Even on weekends I would hurriedly grab something to eat and get into what needed to be done. It was only when I made the choice to slow down and feel did I realize how much noise from the week was resounding in my head.

Now my routine is different every day. I do set the alarm earlier and hit the snooze so I can let my mind pause and feel the vibration between wake and sleep. I do not get dressed right away, nor hurry. Like a Sunday I have plenty of time to feel the vibration of the sun rising, bird singing or on winter days when it is really too cold to step outside, put on my choice of meditation music and just sit and feel it. It is the difference between vibration and noise. It is almost like tuning an instrument.

When we make the choice to align ourselves with the universe we become part of a great orchestra. Each instrument can shine on its own, may even have a solo now and then, but together it has the means to move great groups of people to see and feel things that are unexplained.

Photo by Rushina Morrison on Unsplash

When you are on your spiritual path you are often going to hear “Raise your vibration.” “Good vibes.” “Bad vibes” “Find silence within you.” What is sound but a vibration? What is noise beyond vibrations out of sync? What if it is as simple as tuning, (aligning) yourself with the feel of the universe for a short time every day or every week?

We all have a part to play in the orchestra we are living in, and that Sunday pause is the time to re-tune yourself. Make a few more Sunday mornings in your week and let me know what wondrous piece of music is being sent to your soul.

Mary

20 views
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page